Welcome to Radical Notion

Our first post wasn’t so much of an introduction as it was a post put up to have something on the blog. Now is when the actual introduction begins.

We’re Sky and Ariela, two friends who have known each other for many years. A couple of months ago, we discovered we were both feminists, and we’ve both been wanting to start a project for a very long time. Earlier this week, everything came to the point where we just decided to get it together and do something. And here you have this blog.

About Sky

I’m Sky, an aspiring writer and almost-high-school graduate who is currently living in the beautiful state of Colorado, which I adore. I grew up in a Christian home and now consider myself a Christian feminist, Jesus follower, and, if you want to combine the two, a Jesus Feminist. I’m 50% sarcastic, 45% sweet, and 5% evil. (…Jokingly evil, of course … I think.) I love life and daydreaming, but the frustration and anger I feel about social justice issues is often quietly brewing in the background. I used to think Processed with VSCOcam with b1 presetI was an optimist, but my family could tell you otherwise. I’ve learned to embrace my grumpy, sarcastic side, but I also am a dreamer at heart.

I was an accidental feminist for most of my life before I even knew what it was. In my brief stint with patriocentric Christianity, feminism was considered a dirty word. Without the brief brush I had with legalism, where I wore skirts only for a period of time, I wouldn’t have seen the flaws in how women are treated today in culture, especially evangelicalism. Now, much like I embraced my grumpy side, I’ve learned to embrace the word feminist. I believe so much in women, and I don’t want us to feel inferior or pushed down anymore.

One of my greatest passions is fiction. I love to consume it, especially TV shows. I’m a Marvel fanatic, and I identify with Tony Stark and cry over Bucky Barnes daily. In addition, I also write fiction, and have quite a few novels in progress. I’m working on establishing myself in the writing world and would love to work in it full-time someday. The dream is to eventually get published.

When I’m not writing or working on blog stuff, I love to chat my friends and play the board game “Smart Ass.” Currently I’m also blazing through the TV show Lost on Netflix (season 4, my friends. It’s gettin’ real). I’m also a coffee addict and Nick Miller from the show New Girl is my spirit animal and pretty much soulmate. (Well, in addition to my one true love Bucky Barnes.)

About Ariela

I’m Ariela, which is Hebrew for “Lioness of God”. Absolutely fitting, if I do say so myself. I’m a 20-something writer, poet, and rebel. I’m also, obviously, a feminist. I prefer the specific term of Jesus Feminist. I grew up in a conservative Christian home under the constant pressure that radical notion possible headerbecause I was a girl, the best and really only place where I could belong was under my father’s authority as a stay at home daughter, and then eventually under my husbands authority as a stay at home wife and mother. I am refusing to believe that and in the process of removing myself from that damaging mindset. The fact that I am a woman does not make me a lesser being, and the sooner the world can come to grips with that fact, the better.

I write fiction, and poetry; both of which tend to have feminist themes that may or may not be obvious. I enjoy reading books that stretch my mind and force me to think, and so it is my goal to write books like that, while at the same time being enjoyable fiction or poems.

When not writing or fighting the urge to swear at conservatives, the patriarch, and fundamentalists, I drink copious amounts of tea and coffee, take walks and attempt yoga (the move where you lie on the floor and wish you were good at yoga is my favorite), read lots of books, bake cookies, travel, cry over Doctor Who, Sherlock, and Marvel movies, chat with my friends, and basically just be awesome.

Our Vision

The purpose of this blog is for women to share their stories and for their voices to be heard. We will address sexism in society and culture, as well as personal stories regarding sexism, patriarchy, and misogyny. We want women to have a space where they can be recognized and validated, and we also hope that this can serve as an educational space to others, one blog post at a time.

We will be posting on Tuesdays and Fridays. We are also accepting submissions, so check out our guidelines. Please feel free to contact us with an idea for an article or a personal story you’d like to share. Join the discussion, as well, because we want to not just make a blog, but a community. This is our space, but it is also your space, and we want to stand here as women. Together.

Join the discussion on Facebook here and Twitter here. Our first guest post will go up on Friday. We can’t wait to meet you.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Radical Notion

  1. Thanks for starting this blog ladies. I like to see young Christian women thinking about and discussing the narrow role we were taught to embrace in our Fundamentalist upbringing. Also, the issues of “what is Feminism in 2014” is something that Id like to see more young women talking about. My age group of woman (Im 50) grew up with real disadvantages, low pay, and fewer opportunities that our male friends. Thanks in part to the radical feminist sisters that came before you, your age woman has at least grown up in a country that does not tell her that she doesnt have the mental capacity to pursue her dreams. The Church has been slower to embrace this Radical Notion. But young women seem to be struggling with how to express their sexuality without having it be the only definition of their worth. This is what (I think anyway) is what modern Feminism needs to tackle. Thank you and good luck to you little sistas!

    • Auntie K,

      Thank you for commenting, it made our day! I’d absolutely love to explore what feminism is in 2014, for sure. In fact, you may just have sparked a blog post!

      I am extremely grateful for all of the work feminists have done before us. It is because of them that Radical Notion now exists and that things are easier for women now. Thank you for the beautiful reminder of those that came before us & paved the way for women today.

      It is so encouraging to hear from you, Auntie K! I hope you will stick around! Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us–it is and will continue to be people like you that keep us going. xx

      — Sky

Leave a Reply

